Sharing Memories of the 1950’s on Staten Island at the Conference House


This week I visited the Conference House in Staten Island. It’s a grand stone manor named in memory of the 1776 conference convened at the House in an attempt to end the Revolutionary War. The House is on the south shore of Staten Island and has a beautiful view overlooking Raritan Bay.

Now, I’m a 1950’s gal at heart and 1776 is a bit early for me so – why the time travel ? Susan Fowler from the museum recently contacted me about a special show called “Coming to Staten Island – 1950’s Memories.” She thought I might be able to help out with some tidbits from that time. I have been collecting boxes and merchandise from the old time 50’s stores like Garbers, Paul’s Men’s Shop and Marino’s Department Store since my retail years on Port Richmond Ave. (Yes, I remember when Woolworth’s was still there.) I packed up a box of items to lend and during my visit to the newly opened exhibit, I met with Kirsten Teasdale, the Museum Educator and Susan Fowler for a tour of the show and the Conference House.

Merchandise with store tags from Staten Island stores that were open in the 50’s

Kirsten and Susan also showed me how to access a special online portion of the show at voicethread.com that lets you view all the item the museum has collected. The site even allows you to add your own written or recorded comments. I couldn’t resist clicking through and adding a few of my thoughts about the 1950’s clothing styles and household items.


Whether you grew up on Staten Island or just enjoy a look back into the “not so distant” past discover this collection of photographs, household objects, books and more that will spark your memories of the 50’s.

Visit the Conference House and the online exhibit at http://voicethread.com/#q.b820708.i4363231

Conference House Association Local History Project “Coming to Staten Island – 1950’s Memories.”

3 thoughts on “Sharing Memories of the 1950’s on Staten Island at the Conference House

  1. amendment9 says:

    In the late '50's & early '60's – We used to take drives out to the “porch” – the giant gazebo – at the end of Hylan Boulevard where there would be ice cream vendors all over the street. The street was paved all the way to the porch.

    Like

Leave a Reply

